





















Tom Whiting **Chief Executive General Dental Council** sent by email

24 February 2025

Selection of the next GDC Chair

Dear Tom,

We write as the representative bodies covering the full spectrum of the dental sector, working across all fields of practice.

We note that Chair Lord Toby Harris is not seeking a second term of office. We can take some comfort that his term has not repeated the mistakes of his predecessor, Dr Bill Moyes, who left trust and confidence among registrants on the floor.

However, real gains made since 2021 cannot make up for lost ground.

Lord Harris has left a long lead time to ensure the right process is in place for selection of a successor. We want the right person for this role, and so we are united that the next Council Chair must be a registrant.

Rebuilding trust is a journey, not a final destination. We want to ensure your next Chair can bring knowledge, insight, and empathy from the coalface to the task ahead.

Yours sincerely,

Eddie Crouch Chair

British Dental Association

Dr Rhian Jones President British Association of Oral Surgeons

Dr Fiona Sandom Chair British Association of Dental Therapists

D.

Dr Robbie Lawson President British Orthodontic Society



Shiyana Eliyas President 2024-25 British Society of Prosthodontics

Devorah Bout



Simon Thackery President British Association of Private Dentistry

Professor Nicola West President British Society of Periodontology and Implant

Deborah Bomfim President British Society for Restorative Dentistry Dr Sam Jethwa President The British Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry

Preetee Hylton,

Dentistry

Preetee Hylton, President, British Association of Dental Nurses



Mili Doshi Chair British Society of Gerodontology