Internet Explorer and Edge browser users:
To download Word, Excel or PowerPoint files please right-click on the file you wish to download, and select 'Save target as...'

Health and Science Committee

The Committee focuses on topics of interest to dentistry, including the use of dental amalgam, oral cancer, fluoridation, infection control, and others.

Read our latest blogs on the topic of public health for an update on our work.


Who are the Health and Science Committee's representatives?

Our members expertise ranges from political issues such as the regulation of dentistry and oral health promotion to clinical issues such as cross infection control, orthodontics and restorative dentistry:


The current Chair is Dr Jason Stokes

Other members of the Committee are as follows:

  • Professor Jeremy Bagg
  • Professor Avijit Banerjee
  • Dr Abs Casaus
  • Dr Anwen Cope
  • Dr Colwyn Jones
  • Professor Elizabeth Kay
  • Dr Susie Sanderson
  • Dr Wendy Thompason
  • Professor Damien Walmsley
  • Dr Kristina Wanyonyi
  • Professor Timothy Watson
  • Professor David Williams
  • Dr Desmond Wright (cross-representative from the Dental Public Health Committee)

Cochrane UK representative

The Committee also includes a representative from Cochrane UK, Professor Helen Worthington. 

Cochrane UK aims to improve health by promoting the production, understanding and use of high quality research evidence by patients, healthcare professionals and those who organise and fund healthcare services.


For details of upcoming meetings, please contact Arianne Matlin